Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Zoos have always been a topic of interest as they raise a question of whether people should keep them as a vital means for animal researches or knock them down for ethical reasons. From my perspective, I suppose although zoos do interfere with the natural habitat of some species their indispensable role in environment conservation, as well as their contribution to science, should not be neglected

On the one hand, many people are opposed to zoos because they believe humans have no right to use animals for entertainment and profit. Animals that are kept in captivity can be deprived of their freedom, leading to the massive loss of their basic instincts, such as predating, searching for food, etc. Therefore, the way people capture wildlife animals in cages to attract more tourists and earn more money is considered to be immoral and the biodiversity would be devastated in general

On the other hand, the main mission of zoos is not making money but providing suitable conditions for endangered species and allowing scientists to have further insights into the animals’ behaviours. Specifically, many animals are on the verge of extinction, for instance: pandas, rhinos, or gorillas, which can be threatened by predators or unable to reproduce in their environment. Also, scientists can go to zoos to conduct advanced researches on these species, thus, discovering more solutions to preserve them. As a result, zoos do not only do wonders for certain species at the moment but the whole ecosystem in a long term

To conclude, although zoos have been doubted for their values for so many decades. I strongly believe that if being used properly, zoos can be a wonderful way for not only conserving rare or endangered species but also provoking more remedies for some environmental issues nowadays