Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In this day and age, it is hotly debated whether keeping wild animals in zoos is brutal. Although the argument that animals can be completely protected in zoos is acceptable, I strongly believe that zoos are not an appropriate home for them.

It is undeniable that zoos are always a safe place for wild faunas. Animals are provided with sufficient food and health care when they are in zoos since the authority prioritize spending budgets on hiring professional animal caretakers to take care of animals every day. This gives rise to a better life condition for wild faunas, compared to that when they are in nature. Moreover, animals outside zoos can be risk being preyed and killed by hunters, which is attributed to no certain protection measures for them.

Regardless of the above reasons, I think animals should not be caged in zoos. First and foremost, animals in zoos are taken advantage of for recreational purposes, rather than being protected. It originates from the increase in humans interests in catching sight of wild animals, which can be advantageous for zoo managers. They would set store by improving entertaining activities as well as visitor services, and gradually ignore caring animals. Besides, animals have their own feelings when being caged and the rights to live in where they belong to. To take panthers as an example, their instinct is running and being predators, but it becomes impossible when they are kept in the small space in zoos. As a result, they can lack their instinct, which will be detrimental for heredity.

To sum up, to keep wild faunas in zoos or not will continue to be argued. However, I totally suppose that animals should be in nature.