Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is argued that keeping animals in captivity is unacceptable and immoral so it is imperative to shut down all these places while others say that zoos can play an integral part in wildlife protection. In spite of some severe consequences zoos can bring to animals, I believe that they are prime factors for their conservation.

On the one hand, keeping animals locked up in cages for their entire life can deprive them of freedom. In fact, there is an inseparable correlation between animals and natural habitats so caging them can deter them from being exposed to the wild, which can lead to losing essential surviving aptitude. Therefore many of them might suffer from boredom and confinement. Furthermore, it is recorded that there is a myriad of zoos mistreating animals. For example, these animals are often provided with insufficient food and medical care and they are woefully abused to entertain and appeal more visitors to the zoos. More specifically, when they are old or sick, they are instantly taken to slaughterhouses where they are killed for their meat, fur and other valuable parts of their bodies.

On the other hand, many people feel that zoos are useful in some regards. First of all, the illegal poaching and trade are happening more often so zoos can help to preserve endangered species by keeping them safe from hunters and other threats such as habitat destruction or the fast speed of urbanization. Especially, some large-funded zoos run breeding programs to impede them from becoming extinct. Secondly, zoos can impart the most practical knowledge about the unshaken importance of animals to people so their awareness of conserving the nature and endangered species are highly intensified. Evidently, hundreds of non-profit organizations and projects established to combat against the extinction of some animals shed a light on the excessive concern of people about this issue. Consequently, factors intimidating the survival of wild animals can be gradually eliminated.

In conclusion, although zoos-related issues are severe, its role in protection of wild animals should also be taken into thorough consideration by virtue of their advantages they can bring to animals.