Some people want government to spend money on life on other planets. However, others think it is a waste of public money when the earth already has so many problems. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the areas where the public money should be invested in. Some people argue the government should spend money on searching alien lives on other planets so that human beings may find alternative planets to live in the future. Others, however, oppose this view and believe there are more important concerns on Earth waiting to be addressed.

Curiosity and current resource depletion motivate people to explore other planets. People have been wondering if we are the only intelligent creatures in the universe. Out of curiosity, many programmes such as Mars missions have been launched in order to find life on other planets. In addition, energy source shortages urge people to find an alternative place to live in the future. Due to the significant growth of vehicle numbers, today’s demand for fuel and petrol has increased on an unprecedented scale. Many people believe that seeking for a planet which is suitable for human beings to live is a solution for further development for future generations. Spending money on searching for alien lives could satisfy people themselves and tackle the resource issues.

However, the opponents believe that there are other more important concerns, such as health problems and poverty need to be addressed. Globally, many people are suffering from some incurable diseases, including diabetes and cancers. If the government can use this money for developing new medicines to tackle these diseases, it can free many people from suffering. Additionally, there are many people in the third world countries still living below the poverty line. They are facing food and water shortages. By spending the public money on providing a safety net to those in need, more people can be saved from extreme hunger and poverty.

In conclusion, alien life exploration may satisfy people’s curiosity and tackle resource problems, and human beings’ life could be improved greatly if the money is spent on addressing the issues mentioned above. I believe the government should give the priorities to solve the problems that people are facing on Earth.