Some psychologists now believe studying the behaviour of 3-year old children can predict that some children will grow up to be criminals. To what extent do you believe that crime is a product of human nature? What can be done to solve this problem?

Some specialists claim that 3-year old children's behaviour can indicate their future behavioural patterns - whether they may commit crime. Although I agree with the view that crime is embedded in our genes, there are other factors that cause people's wrongdoings. This problem can be mitigated through education and parenting.

To some extent, it is true that human beings are born with behavioural problems that can lead to potential crime. For example, children would do anything to satisfy themselves, such as destroying for pleasure, lying for hiding their faults and even stealing for pocket money. People may argue that these are merely minor problems, but we can see that anger, untruth and stealing are all sources of crime.

However, poverty and a broken family environment also can lead people to commit crime. First, if someone lives in extreme poverty for a long time, they are likely to steal or rob in order to survive. This can explain why crime rates in poor areas are often higher than in better off areas. In addition to this, people who grow up in broken families often have behavioural problems. As they may feel unloved and unwanted, it would be very possible to develop anti-social characteristics in their formative years, which could cause them to break the law in their adulthood.

To tackle this problem, we can provide better education and give children good parenting. Many people commit crime for money or possessions as they do not have a steady source of income. If the government and the local community can provide free vocational training, they would be able to get employed and feed the family without breaking the law. Furthermore, parents should spare no effort to tighten family bonds and establish good role models. It is less likely that children who grow up in a family with love and care would get involved in violence and crime.

In conclusion, I think the root of crime varies, but if people can receive a better education and have good family relationships, crime rates can be reduced.