Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagre?

It is irrefutable that crime is a perennial problem that all societies confront. Because of that, how to effectively combat and deter teenagers from committing a crime has always been a much debated topic. A school of thoughts holds that the optimal method is to consent successfully reformed prisoners to give speech to young adults. While this may work to some extent, I would argue that police and experts are probably more appropriate in a bid to educate youngsters about the repercussions of crime.

On the one hand, the advocacy of the view that ex-cons should be the ones who talk to teenagers is justifiable. This can boil down to the fact that former inmates had spent part of their life serving in prisons, thus knowing the best about this tough experience and in tandem with imparting their own stories, they could preclude youngsters from getting involved in criminal acts. On the other hand, I believe this method could trigger more detrimental effects on the mentality of teenagers. Some young adults, especially those who have a rebellious tendency, may not take a serious look at the issue or even grow a desire to lead a life of crime. In addition, some ex-convicts would show up with an intimidating appearance, which could frighten the teenagers and lead to a failure in communicating the message. As a result, this measure, by and large, would be counterproductive rather than effective.

In order to reduce juvenile delinquency, knowledge shared by police and criminal psychologists, in lieu of inmates, are far more plausible. First and foremost, police are the ones who have investigated these criminal acts and witnessed the prisoners' struggles in jail thus can inform youngsters about the consequences they may bring or even teach them different ways to steer clear of crime. Police aside, experts studying about criminals are also suitable for educating teenagers how to stay away from committing illegal acts. Since they had spent years scrutinizing the motivators and analyzing the mental well-being of the convicts, they can elaborately apprise the root of these acts as well as instruct teenagers to be exemplary citizens.

In conclusion, for the purpose of curbing youth crime, ex-convicts talking to teenagers does not generate fruitful outcomes. As opposed to reformed prisoners, police officers or specialists in this field would be a more holistic approach to address the rate of crime in juveniles.