Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about the dangers of committing a crime.

Do you agree or disagree?

Crime education has evolved into a major topic in many countries. While I agree that asking those who are released from prison to have a meeting with students is a good education method, I also believe that there are better alternatives to warn the adolescents about the danger of committing crimes.

On the one hand, reformed lawbreakers can tell youngsters about how they are involved in crime, the dangers of an offender's lifestyle, and what life in jail is like, which means children would be discouraged from criminal activities and may become productive citizens in the future. However, this way of learning may generate a tendency of imitating kinds of illegal acts in teenagers' minds, especially those who are lack maturity and awareness. Furthermore, it cannot be guaranteed that the ex-offender has completely got rid of their inner desire to perform this activity again, so I concur that they are not role models for teenagers.

On the other hand, there are more effective ways to raise teenagers' awareness than learning from ex-criminals. One option is that police officers can visit schools and talk to young people. They can tell children about so many criminal cases and their sentences which can create a strong influence on children and discourage them from any activity . Moreover, teachers at school also play an important role in raising the awareness of students about crime. Moral lessons may not be abandoned in the classroom, and a positive education environment should be promoted, contributing to crime prevention. Subsequently, educational films might be informative. For instance, the success of a series of educational programs on Vietnamese Television channels about the price that offenders have to pay proves that the narrative forms of crime education can work. It is hoped that a speech of used-to-be outlaws is promoted at all school levels.

In summary, despite the view that people who have turned their lives around after serving a prison sentence could help teenagers stay away from committing crimes, I believe that this opinion is not the best education method for crime education and the idea of using figures of authority and lecture to prevent school children from the danger of offending is more appropriate.