Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people to give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about the dangers of committing a crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, educating children on the severe consequence of committing a crime has long been a contentious issue. There is a common belief that talks given by people who used to undergo imprisonment should be held at school to keep students informed of crimes and its threats. While it is undeniable that this practice could be beneficial to some extent, I would contend that there are several better methods to educate children about the dangers when a crime is carried out.

Firstly, it is understandable why some people argue that having reformed criminals talking about the hazards associated with crime could bring out advantages. The most obvious benefit is that students can draw lessons from people who truly understand crime and prison. Those who used to be imposed a prison sentence have likely gathered knowledge not only about the dangers of crime for its victims, but also the threats to the offenders themselves. To explain, criminals are those who experienced a long process of incarceration and rehabilitation , their life-stories are definitely a great source of knowledge and experience of both what they lost and how remorseful they feel.

Notwithstanding the benefits of the aforementioned method, I’m convinced that there are better approaches to teach children about the adverse impacts of taking part in illegal activities. Firstly, schools and educators should take into account a subject called criminology and integrate it into the student’s regular curriculum. This subject, by contrast to life-stories of former convicts which could be deemed as anecdotal evidence , tends to be more reliable. With this method, children can be equipped with all necessary knowledge about crime through the lens of science and therefore have a holistic view on this issue. Alternatively, showing films which carry lives of people behind the bars and their difficulty in jails is also another viable measure. Because films can offer vivid images, it becomes more attractive and therefore more effective in informing students of the harsh reality of life during incarceration.

In conclusion, even though talks given by ex-offenders may be a great source of harsh lives and knowledge about crimes, I am still of the opinion that there are several more upbeat and effective ways to help students have a better approach to this issue, such as the introduction of criminology as a subject at schools.