Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about the dangers of committing a crime. Do you agree or disagree?

People differ greatly in their views whether talks by ex-prisoners should be held at school to inform students of the threats when a crime is committed. While acquisecing that this practice is beneficial in a few ways, I would contend that there are many better methods to educate students about the dangers of crimes.

There are two compelling reasons why there are certain benefits of having exprisoners talking to students about the hazards that are associated with crimes. First and foremost, Students may learn the dangers of doing a crime to the victims from those who committed a crime. To explain, notonly do these ex-criminals have surely gathered knowledge about the threats of crimes from their own wrongdoings but they also understand from communication with other prisoners. Furthermore, this method may educate students about the threats to the offenders themselves when they carry out a crime. This is because ex-prisoners are those who underwent and a long process of imprisonment and rehabilitation.

However, I am firmly convinced that some crime education methods play a more significant role in teaching students the hazards when crimes are done. The most important measure is to introduce criminology as a subject at school. A clear explaination forr this is that while the life-stories of ex-crinimals are often biased, criminology knowledge is scientifically proven, thus be more reliable than a few individuals’ stories. Another approach is to film the hard daily lives of prisoners and show it to school students. Although ex-prisoners’ talks can be persuasive, films with vivid images are much more visually attractive and more effective in informing students of the threats related to crimes.

To sum up, although I acknowledging that talks by ex-criminals may educate students about the hazards of carrying out a crime for victims and offenders, I would argue that some more stronger resolutions should be adopted to teaching students these threats, including the introduction of criminology as a school subject and showing films about the life of prisoners.