Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that people after being in prison are often likely to be good citizens from then on. In light of this, many people contend that ex-prisoners are the best people to explain to the adolescents the negative impacts of becoming offenders. I completely disagree with this point of view for reason that this essay will discuss.

Firstly, there are various reasons why ex-prisoners are not truly suitable for talking to teenagers about the dangerous aspects of being an offender. Perhaps the principal reason for this view is that adolescents should be disciplined in their early years by their parents and teachers. That is when the important education should take place about laws and proper manners in the maturation process of a boy or a girl. As a result, teenagers probably already have a sense of what they should do to prevent themselves from committing a crime. For example, in primary school, students are given discipline about the codes of morality and the legal system and encouraged to become good citizens.

Secondly, the alternatives are more likely to have significant impacts on educating the young generation about crime. One option for this proof is the police, they can visit some schools and have a talk to students. Obviously, police are the ones who have gained a wide knowledge of the offence and they are able to give students a source of information relating to this topic.

On the other hand, it can not be denied that the ex-prisoners have the ability to make considerate contributions to discipline the next generation. That is, after a long period of being educated in the prison, they have gained a deeper understanding of their faults

and make sense of how to correct their wrongdoing. Therefore, it is easier for them to make a speech to teenagers that adolescents had better behave in moral ways and avoid being committed to prison for their offences.

In conclusion, for the reason I mentioned above, I strongly believe that people who have been in prison are not always the best ones to play a vital role in crime education. Besides, combining ex-felons’ instruction with parental and schooling methods of education leads to more positive outcomes.