Some practical skills such as money management should be taught in high school. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and real life examples.

some argue that during the time we spend at school, we should learn some practical skills, like money management, for example. In my opinion, that period of education should be oriented to acquire more transversal learnings, such as interpersonal skills, communicative abilities, etc.

First, at a stage when the pupil is so little instructed, I think is pretty much important to develop the abilities to acquire and process information. Enhancing critical thinking will eventually lead the person to understand the best way to learn any other practical skill. In addition, the first academic years are very important from the perspective of social development, and good interpersonal skills can be used in every stage and scenario of their lives.

Moreover, hands-on learning such as money management, even some related to computers or media use, shouldn’t be taught at early ages. we live in a very changing world in which we don’t know which specifics technologies or methodologies we are going to use in a near future. Therefore, learning about investment methods may not be useful when the pupil become financially independent, but good communication skills and talent development are features with an important presence in our everyday life.

In conclusion, it is important to teach practical skills at school, but not necessarily those related to productive or financial issues, as they may not be applicable at a certain point of the learner’s life. On the other hand, practical skills as self-study techniques, one's talent development, difficult situations handling, may be useful at every stage of the student’s life, during school, or as an adult with their family or colleagues.