Some psychologists say that doing absolutely nothing for a period of time each day is the key to decreasing stress in everyday life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some psychological experts argue that in order to eliminate stress from our daily life, it is better to spend a certain amount of time without engaging in any sort of activities. However, it seems that this suggestion does not appear to be much productive due to manifold reasons. Firstly, stress is related to how the body reacts to external happenings. Secondly, people need to be trained to manage their stress rather than avoid it.

Firstly, being inactive both mentally and physically for a period of time would probably create a state of laziness in the people. To elaborate, this practice does not significantly stimulate the body and mind. Instead of that, it leads to a more idle state. In addition, this method may become more boring for many a person, as it lacks any sort of mental or physical stimulation. For example, doing some activities like meditation increases the concentration and presence of mind; however, being idle leads to sleepiness / drowsiness. Therefore, the benefit may not be progressive as expected. What’s more, people may entertain unwanted or harmful thoughts while staying idle. In the end, this will cause more harm than good.

Secondly, there are various ways to cope with mental stress, which can deliver not only mental but also physical advantage. Being engaged in activities like sports and games, for instance, boosts our mental health; apart from that, it helps us to stay rejuvenated throughout the day. Furthermore, positive interactions with some activities has been shown to have a meditative effect on stress reduction. In fact, spending time outdoors with a pet or simply to enjoy nature has been found to be one of the most effective means of controlling situations in which a person might feel overwhelmed with thoughts and problems in life. Hence, it is imperative that a person remains physically active to tackle this unforseen headache.

To conclude, it does not seem advisable that such relaxation techniques advocated by certain experts are effective for every individual in the long term, as it does not contribute significantly to deal with daily stress; actually, there are better ways to cope with stress. Hence, by justifying the pros and cons of the aforementioned issues and suggesting suitable stress management techniques, I have reached the conclusion that being stressed has nothing to do with overcoming strain and creating a strategy to mitigate the sources of these problems.