Some say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There have been heated controversies over the effectiveness of advertising campaigns from brands and corporates. While some believe that advertising has proved to be an ideal methodology in marketing, others assert it no longer attracts people’s consideration, given its conventional appearance. Although there is some compelling evidence for the former statement, from my perspective, the latter makes more sense.

On the one hand, supporters of advertising point out the high efficiency of the advertisement in convincing clients and customers to purchase their newly manufactured products. It is widely known that the commodities advertised on televisions and signals on the streets often possess glamourous appearances together with some overrated comments regarding their quality, which leads to the rise in public attention and brings some substantial marketing achievements in return for the companies. Moreover, by incorporating some special offers such as sales and discounts into the advertisements, more and more people are likely to be willing to spend their money since they can figure out some financial advantages attached to the installation of products.

However, on the other hand, opponents of advertising highlight the consistency and the obsolete methodology used in advertisements, which results in people’s dissatisfaction and disappointment. To be more specific, many companies have been using their unchanged pictures and tapes considered to be old-fashioned to introduce their commodities, failing to meet the customers’ demand for advancements and other intriguing approaches. In addition, integrity and truthfulness are other plausible explanations for the declining effectiveness of advertising campaigns. A majority of clients are gradually getting accustomed to the marketing tricks and deceitful intentions immersed in the advertisement. For instance, many products appear to be terrible and do not live up to people’s expectations compared to those introduced on televisions, triggering outrageous reactions and distrust for the companies as well as diminishing manufacturers’ social reputation.

To sum up, while it is conceivable how advertising can come in handy to attract and fascinate customers' appetite to purchase things, I personally believe it is no longer a hot option in terms of advertising, given some aforementioned reasons.