Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The quality of life has been improved significantly throughout the time, especially at present, the novel technology has enabled the governments to enhance the status of dwellers. Hence, some people propose that laborers should work more than the initial retirement age since they are enjoying a longer life span. From the vantage point, there are both pros and cons in the given opinion, which will be dissected with specific rationales in the essay below.

On the one hand, encouraging elderly to be involved in work brings numerous advantages to themselves as well as the country. According to recent research, there is an escalating number of elderlies suffering from anxiety and depression because they are left alone in the house with no relatives or kids around them. Therefore, working will help them re-connect with humanity and socialize with colleagues, which undoubtedly improves the overall welfare. In terms of the nation, more workers means more opportunities to develop in such fields as economy, medicine or culture etc... It also results in the diversity of the labour force together with the enhancement of the GDP of their country.

On the other hand, raising the retirement age may cause several controversials due to some reasons. It can be seen that an average person has to spend more than a half of their life span on pursuing work. Implementing this policy will not only make more people engaged in endless nine-to-five rat races but also shorten the time needed to strengthen the family bond. Besides, working at old age is not a really good choice with companies, since their productivity is quite lower than the young co-workers and small or medium companies have an intention of cutting down on the number of employees to increase the outcomes. Thus, the disadvantages have outstripped the aforementioned merits with reasonable explanations.

In conclusion, while both dwellers and the nation are the beneficiaries due to some extent, it is conspicuous that this policy still has its own downsides regarding the average working time and other issues. Thus, governments should make this policy optional to meet the requirements of working over the retirement age of a certain number of people.