Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that the retirement age should be increased since people are living longer than before. In the author's perspective, people should not retire at an older age for several reasons which are mentioned in the essay.

The first and foremost that should be mentioned is the effectivity on productivity. Many old workers have a variety of health problems such as backache, poor memory or impaired vision, which prevents them from working with high productivity. Working at such poor capacity is ought to be a difficult circumstance to work efficiently due to the slower reflexes, reducing their full potential making it a poor comparison from their prime. Moreover, not only did it reduce their capacity but also damaging their mental state because of the pressure of continuous working status. They suffer illness due to the overpressure of their minds when weakened in the cause of aging, then leading to the occurrence of depression, obesity from emotional eating to cope with their work, and constant breakdowns

In addition, one of the culprits of why the authority should not increase the retirement age is that retirement is also the objective motivation to encourage younger generations to pursue higher status in their workplace. A labour leaving their position to retire is an opportunity for younger workers to achieve higher success . A research done in Harvard University indicates when the passed labor force retires, 80% of the youth will have more chances in getting a higher position in their work environment which will grant them various welfare involving their income, quality of life and most importantly their mental state. Therefore will create a competitive environment and improve the working productivity. Moreover, retirement is also a chance for people to enjoy their offspring after dedicated working time. People will have time to enjoy their welfare and pursue their dreams.

In conclusion, the author strongly believes that the adjustment of retirement age is unnecessary since it will negatively affect the working productivity and also the opportunity to promote the younger generation.