Some say old people should continue to work, if their condition allows them to do so. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Common sense seems to dictate that the elderly with abilities to work could keep their jobs going. I find myself in complete disagreement with this viewpoint.

Firstly, when older people still join the labor market, not solely may they delay work progress but many young people also lose ample opportunities while finding employment. With the proliferation of technology, the requirements of possessing machine-based skills are higher and higher while the elderly are unable to adapt to these changes immediately.Consequently, they would become a major reason causing profit loss of the total country’ economy. Moreover, the unemployment rate would be on the rise. Because companies tend to recruit experienced and well-trained people that ensure productivity. Hence, postgraduates and novice people’ group are incomparable to their seniors in job markets.

Secondly, it is high time older people cared about themselves and lived their dream. The reason is they must have spent most of the youth dedicating to work and society without a chance to strive for their own hobbies and happiness such as travelling, gathering with their family and friends. Besides, the workplace and community also put pressure on their shoulder which result in mental problems such as trauma and fatigue. For that reason, retirement is a way to reflect on their past and do what they could not achive when they were young.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that stopping working at later ages shows redeeming features for both individuals and society. It is suggested that the government should propagate a rule to let the elderly not work hard.