Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?

Nowadays, uniforms have become a prevailing type of clothes used in most schools on a global scale. While a large quantity of students claim that they are forced to abide by their schools’ rules when it comes to uniforms, others are allowed to wear unrestricted kinds of clothes. The essay will clarify both the benefits and drawbacks of having a uniform.

It cannot be denied that uniforms can form serious consequences to students. Firstly, having to put on their uniforms will lead to students’ inability to express themselves with their own styles of clothing. By contrast, those not wearing a school uniform can experiment with different clothing styles in order to find something that will suit them. Secondly, there is no scarcity of families who cannot afford the price of uniforms. As a consequence, strict rules in terms of uniforms may put these families under severe strain of having enough money to buy them.

One should, nevertheless, consider the issue from another angle. The first positive aspect of uniforms which can be seen is that they enable the school to cater for their students over a large area with no difficulty. Consequently, if the child is lost, the uniform is the sufficient facilitator to find him or her. In addition, uniforms play their roles in eliminating the gap between poor and rich students. Due to the fact that all the students have to wear the same thing, students will not distance each other for their families’ financial status. For instance, a school in Vietnam embodies the usage of uniforms perfectly, and has witnessed radical changes in students’ attitudes towards others.

To conclude, I am convinced by the view that uniforms have both advantages and disadvantages which have been clearly mentioned in the essay.