Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils while other schools have a very relaxed dress code.

What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of having a school uniform?

Some schools consider the school’s outfit a very important thing to be carefully controlled for all students, while others see that this should be left to the students choice. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of forcing a united school uniform.

On the one hand, having a formal united uniform gives the students the feeling of unity. Meaning, all of the school's pupils will act as one and will have a sense of connection to each other. Moreover, when all students have to wear the same outfit every day, none of the less financially able children will feel embarrassed about their looks. For example, schools can be a tough place for a poor kid, especially when all of the other kids try to show their designers clothes and their latest dresses.

On the other hand, giving the youngsters a control over their choice of what to wear will give them the ability to express themselves. And the freedom even in small things will go a long way in feeling more relaxed and control-free. Unfortunately, this is something that united outfits can’t provide. A new study has shown that the children that were given the chance to choose their clothes on daily basis shown a greater development of their right brain hemisphere.

In conclusion, United uniforms give the student a sense of being a part of one organization and protect the feeling of the non-wealthy, but it also restricts their freedom and their ability to express themselves which might cause a feeling of stress among the students.