Some scientists believe that intelligent life forms may exist on other planet and some want to send messages to send them. Others think that these life forms may be too dangerous. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the development of space technology, it is possible for mankind to start space exploration. Some people argue that reaching out to extraterrestrials can bring benefits to the human beings, while the others think it is detrimental to contact with aliens. This essay will go into both sides and provide my perspective.

Communicating with extraterrestrial intelligences may help solving practical issues in our society. For instance, global concerns, such as pollution, starvation and wealth disparity, have been bothering the public for years but scientists still failed to find solutions for these problems. However, any extraterrestrial civilization is likely to be more advanced than us and they may have successfully solved the global problems that we are experiencing. By learning from their civilization, we can adopt their solution for these concerns, thereby improving the public’s living standard.

However, the argument above can be viewed from a different angle. Since people have no knowledge of the civilization that the scientists reach out to, the consequence of this act remain unknown. The mankind will be exposed to the risk of being exploited and manipulated if the aliens that we reach out to are hostile and more advanced than us. For example, extraterrestrial intelligences may take away our natural resources and colonize our planets, which will bring detrimental affects to the human beings.

Personally, I believe that sending messages to the aliens can benefit our future generation as it will pave the path to cosmic immigration. Since the natural resources is limited and the population is growing rapidly, our society may reach a point where the earth can no long handle the population density. By exploring the space and communicating with extraterrestrial intelligences, we are likely to find a planet that is suitable for our living. In the future, immigrating to another planet will no longer be a dream.