Taking break of one year between finishing the school and going to university is becoming a popular trend among the students nowadays. There is often a deep discussion within students whether they should take off a year before pursuing there further studies or continue straight-away. We will ponder upon different advantages and disadvantages of the same.

Most of the students take break from the studies after completing the school so that they can go on and get some work experience before getting enrolled in the university. Work experience could be an internship related to field of study they are planning to pursue or working altogether in a different area. The reason for the latter could be getting the initial funds they would require for the admission.

Considering these two scenarios there could be positive or negative ramification to the students future carrier goals. Student could end up losing interest in further studies and continue doing the menial jobs so as to keep the cash flow coming in. The optimistic outcome of the above decision could be, student getting enough industry exposure to the relevant work stream so that he or she could get a better idea of what should be the specialization that could chosen while enrolling in for further studies.

The other popular reason for taking break is getting a good experience of traveling and exploring new places. There could be many reasons for students to choose travel before starting a new course, which might include enjoying the hard earned grade in the previous year and blow out all the steam from their system. This is a very good mechanism to rejuvenate the energy to start fresh with new academic year. Although the reason of getting refreshed before new year of study is sounding pleasant but there might be some student who will get under pressure of missing out on a whole year without doing any academic related work. Subsequently develop fear of not achieving the same goals without taken the break. This would eventually prevent them from concentrating on studies which would gradually affect their grades. But this scenarios would student basis, as how they could handle the pressure.

After discussing few of the scenarios, we can say that advantages of one year break between studies outweigh the negative effects, as they can achieve a lot during the break which will definitely help them in their upcoming academics.