Many people believe that social networking sites(such as Facebook) have had a huge impact on both individuals and society. to what extent do you agree?

Over the past decade, Social Networking sites have become an integral part of modern society. There is a long heated debate going on between various groups of people whether it is boon or curse to mankind. I will be discussing both the point of view and provide my opinion at the end.

Social media websites such as Facebook has got such deep roots in people's life that they would not remember an era of their life without it. There are many positive effects in current generation's life which includes connectivity with large number of people. For example, when we consider the time when there was not a single social networking website available, an average man would hardly know a thousand other people in his or her lifetime. But now in the age of social media, single user of these websites would get to know at least 1500 to 2000 people just on a single click of mouse. Such kind of networking help the society as whole by provide opportunities to people either career oriented or even finding new friends to improve their social life. Hence, connectivity is considered to a major boon provided by these kinds of websites to the mankind.

Although the list of advantages of social media could be overwhelming but, there is dark side of them that people should be made aware of in order to protect themselves by not falling prey to any negative effects of them. Wasting time on social media is one of the major drawbacks that we are facing in present time. These sites are so addictive that people tend to spend their valuable time on their phone scrolling through them. We are already a generation of people where everyone is time poor, and we cannot afford to waste such precious thing just sticking to the phones on these websites. Statistic data are now available which portraits that average user of these website spend almost 7-8 hours of their day scrolling through different application such as twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Hence, after having discussed both the aspect of social media websites my opinion is that we can use these websites for our betterment but with a cap on the time we spent on them. Everything can be used for our benefit unless and until we understand the overall impacts on one's life.