It is a controversial matter that whether it is necessary for students to take a gay year. Some people hold that every graduate student from high school should try to be integrated into the society for one year. From my point of view, there is not an absolute answer, as both sides can be reasonable on account of several extents.

On the one hand, people aiming at applying for a job immediately after graduating may be highly interested to work in the gap year. As nowadays much emphasis has been put on the work experience when applying for a job, people have to promote their curriculum vitae by getting more jobs during the university as possible as they can. Besides, the experience of travel or work can give students a more mature outlook on what kind of career fit themselves most. Students who are willing to study humanism or art, for example, might receive a broader vision on what they are going to specialize by the integration with different culture and society.

On the other hand, there is certainly some worry about the gap year. First, Students might be off track from school if being outside the school life for a long time. Some students in China, for example, might dream of being free and off school forever because they see high school as an exam-oriented cage, and the college entrance examination might be seen as the end of their study. Second, not a few families probably cannot afford the costly fee to support their children for a gap year. They might be living in dire life which they find difficult to sustain their daily life let alone paying extra money for their children`s gap year.

In conclusion, the gap year is certainly beneficial for some people to a certain degree but can also bring unexpected results. Indeed, it depends not only on a student`s own career planning but also on the context, including family and education system, of the individual.