Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some high schools leavers tend to go on a trip or be a worker for a year before going to university. The following essay will clarify both sides of the coin, and demonstrate my view that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that both traveling and working provide a wide range of benefits for students to reap. First and foremost is that since today’s labor market needs skillful workers more than before, working as an apprentice for a year in gap year can be a competitive advantage compared to others. Google, For instance, has recently announced that it tends to hire employees who worked as an apprentice before. Besides, a gap year provides more leisure time. Not only does it give students a chance to get rid of their mental conflicts, but it also helps them to focus on what really they want to be in the future. As a result, they are easily able to deal with one of the most complicated dilemmas in their life, studying at a university or becoming a blue-collar worker.

On the other hand, although a gap year has lots of advantages, students may encounter a few problematic situations. Firstly, as students are not experienced, they may be susceptible to exploit in an exhausting job or run into potential troubles on their trips. Secondly, according to the forgetting rate, a gap year has a negative effect on students’ memory. Therefore, they lag behind their peers unless they receive more pressure for becoming familiar with the knowledge at school again.

To conclude, according to the mentioned reasons, I am convinced that the advantages of having a gap year outweigh its disadvantages.