Some studies show that criminals get a lơ level of education. Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is educating people in prison so they can get a job after leaving prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that educating offenders in prison is a method to reduce criminal rate in the future. While I agree that this method can contribute to the crime reduction, I am convinced this is far as the best way to deal with crime.

I accept that education for prisoners may contribute to the reduction of crime. One reason is that it improves their behavior and equips them with working skills which are essential for them to earn a living after being released back into society. Besides, this form of education build in offenders sense of value and self-worth to encourage them to perform better in their life after imprisonment. As a concequence, criminals may demonstrate more empathy towards others in community, and stay away from committing crime again.

However, it is believed that educating offenders is not the best solution to reduce crime since this has far less preventive value. One reason is that this form of education is only applied to those who had committed crime. Others solutions such as stronger punishment and long imprisonment can be taken into consideration since they help deter people who have a intention of carrying out crime. Additionally, school education has a huge impacts on crime-fighting. One example of this is organizing crime education at schools which undeniably help raise awareness and prevent young generation from commtting crime.

In conclusion, although in-prison education contributes to the reduction of crime, I strongly believe that this is not the best way and there are more effective and sustainable ways to have criminal rates reduced in the future as crime education at schools and severe punishment.