Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think that its advantages would outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that some teachers consider that all their teenage students would benefit from an international student exchange scheme. While such a scheme might not be a valuable experience for every student, I think that for the great majority its advantages would outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are a few potential drawbacks if schools organise an international exchange programme for all teenage students. Firstly, there are considerable costs involved and not every family may have the money to spare for travel or other expenses which would be incurred. For example, in the UK single-parent families are quite common, and they usually have to manage on a limited budget. Secondly, some teenagers are relatively shy and immature and may not be ready for the challenge of living with a family overseas. Not every adolescent develops at the same pace in terms of confidence and independence.

On the other hand, there are enormous advantages to be gained, which outweigh the disadvantages. For teenagers studying languages, an international exchange offers the chance to immerse themselves in the language of their host family. They will make much more rapid progress than is possible in the classroom. However, not only language students would benefit. Experiencing a different culture really broadens the horizons of all young people, exposing them to a culture shock that will encourage them to develop critical thinking skills and habits. Sometimes, these students may even form lifelong friendships as a result of such exchanges.

In conclusion, I believe that the vast majority of teenage students would benefit from participation in international exchange programmes, despite some drawbacks in individual cases.