Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The realm of online and traditional courses is one in which there is a fair degree of controversy. It is the opinion of this writer that the facts are on the side of those who believe online courses is the more innovative form of learning.

The first point in favor of online learning is the widespread presence of the Internet. It cannot be denied that since technology developed strongly, gaining access to the Internet has become way easier and more convenient. It should also be mentioned that the Internet is a leading source of information, which allows students to search for answers on reliable websites when they have difficulties studying these classes. A relevant example in this regard is Bach Khoa, the first university to open a variety of online courses in Viet Nam. Through these lessons, students can not only accumulate knowledge but also learn more intensively in their fields by looking for online information.

Avoiding time-consuming activities and lower costs are also the components of the case for distance learning. From an economic perspective, virtual classrooms enable learners to participate without concerning about transportation or tuition fees, which helps participants save aside money for their own necessities. Furthermore, online courses always offer flexible curricula for those who are on tight schedules to keep on their study. According to Tuổi Trẻ, Vietnamese leading news source, in 2007, 70% of the students who took part in distance learning classrooms achieved excellent results thanks to suitable time arrangements and not having to work their way through university.

Thus, it can be seen that the informative lessons from the Internet, affordable prices and saving time are the three biggest benefits online classes bring about. Therefore, it should have been abundantly demonstrated that distance learning in universities is highly recommended.