Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The cutting edge technology and the increasing enhancement of the Internet have brought drastic shifts to the way people work or study. Online courses now are one of the most common choices for university students rather than attending classes on campus. Despite many significant advantages we gain from this, I particularly fancy classroom-based learning.

To begin with, being world-wide and able to connect from every corner of the world, the digital online platform is being taken advantage of by several young researchers, especially those pursuing undergraduate degrees, to conduct their researches and projects. It is undeniable that this approach allows them to have more flexibility in terms of course alternative and time management. As a matter of fact, online courses offer a wide range of subjects from business administration to genetic biology or civil engineering. This way, students have better chances to get exposed to their genuine interests and hobbies, making their decision in future career wiser and more suitable.

On the other hand, the traditional teaching method in association to interaction between students and teachers in classroom is well known for its efficiency in fostering children’s creativity and interpersonal skills. By the time students spend quality time with their peers, it is their social network that will be expanded by participating in classroom live discussions and presentations in public. Lecturers or professors, in addition, are considered to be such a reliable source of knowledge and advice not only in academic fields but also in practical experience. Therefore, students having formal academic education in universities are more likely to succeed in the future.

In conclusion, whereas numerous benefits accumulated if choosing distance learning are remarkable, campus-delivered studying would be a better option since it provides students with a totally different perspective.