Some universities are offering online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this current era of globalization, education has witnessed plenty of technological adoptions. While online courses are brought into many universities as a substance for former classes on campus, I agree with those who contend that the trend has both positive and negative effects. This essay will discuss both perspectives.

On the one hand, people find it flexible learning courses from distance. By being able to learn every time and everywhere, students at third-level education could easily study without a complex curriculum, which helps them absorb knowledge more actively. In terms of self-regulation, students can enhance their time-managing skills through learning online. Regardless of compulsory attendance, students can force themselves to self-study which increases the responsibility of academic missions. A case in point is that my university was offering manifold online courses for students who live far from school and their attendance to school were few and far between. This led to the fact that those students had a chance to reinforce their missing knowledge.

On the other hand, this trend has some drawbacks. Firstly, an online class can not provide adequate interaction between lectures and learners. By directly asking and answering some questions, students can make it easier to perceive the lessons, the value which an online course cannot give. Secondly, the administration of the school for its students will be restricted. Because of letting them stay at home to study, the school manager department can not sure whether they study or not which is really dangerous. For instance, students who are lazy to join the online course will neglect a great deal of knowledge thanks to the lack of schooling management. Therefore, this might cause a lot of education problems even detrimentally affect the future generation.

In conclusion, this development has equally good and detrimental effects on education which should be taken into consideration to observe the long-term influences.