In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

The society is now facing the growth of population, resulting in that people in urban areas choose to live alone or in a nuclear family rather than in a big family. While this trend is still a heated debate, I believe it has more advantages than downsides. this essay will discuss both perspectives.

On the one hand, living in small units can solve resident problems effectively. firstly, nowadays more and more people migrate to cities, this leads to the deficit of accommodation. therefore, regardless of villas or individual houses, it is challenging to have a sufficient house for many generations to live in thanks to the rising cost of real estate. As a result, people strive to seek a small flat to live by themselves or as a separated family. a case in point is that back to the past decade, people just spend 200-300 million dongs to own an apartment but now this price comes up to 2 to 3 billion dongs, which makes plenty of people unaffordable to purchase. Secondly, this can create manifold family-related problems among different generations. living together in one house can lead to the majority of conflicts between the aging population and the youngsters. consequently, this might detrimentally affect the living environment.

On the other hand, this phenomenon could come with some negative influences, especially relating to the warmth of the family’s members. a nuclear family, which just has parents and children, hardly can receive the love from other relatives such as grandparents, aunts, uncles, etc. like other traditional Vietnamese home. for instance, now the children do not recognize their relatives who were supposed to be their friends in childhood. besides, the distance between them and their grandparents will be lengthened.

In conclusion, although this trend can badly affect on family relationships, this can resolve manifold urgent problems which authorities are handling now.