Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, motorcycles are banned in the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis, and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In the current era of globalization, environmental protection has an indispensable role to play in the development of the economy. It is true that some urban areas have already had vehicle-free days when individual transportation is prohibited while public transportation is encouraged. I agree with those who contend that this action brings more benefits than downsides.

On the one hand, using public transportation could cause plenty of detrimental influences on the way people commute. Because of the poor infrastructure and inadequate facilities, people might find it hard to transit by buses or metros which are always full of workload. As a result, passengers will soon get exhausted when taking public transportation. In terms of security, these vehicle-free days can turn into appropriate opportunities for crime happening. People are prone to be robbed by pick-pockets or thieves when going by public transportation, especially buses. For instance, passengers might neglect his/her cargo while paying heed to the destination, which easily leads to expand the chances for crime occurring.

On the other hand, these days could immensely meet environmental needs. Firstly, by using a majority of public transportation, it can help to decline the gas emissions coming mostly from private vehicles, which also raise the awareness of people about environmental consciousness. In this day and age, the relationship between nature and industrialization is becoming a heated debate, therefore, the national and local authorities should take this action like an urgent solution for that issue. Secondly, days without vehicles can both address the congestion problem and enforce a beneficial habit among city dwellers. Traffic jams are always a constant matter for policymakers thanks to the colossal number of vehicles commuting on the street. Moreover, vehicle-free days can make people have a habit to use transportation because of its cheap fare, convenience, etc., which becomes in the long run. A case in point is that people will find that it is environmentally friendly when using public transportation, so they are willing to use them more often.

In conclusion, due to those benefits that vehicle-free days bring, I concur that we should encourage the government to implement it.