Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think that this is a positive or negative development?

There has always been controversy as regards whether or not tertiary education schools on the campus should make way for virtual classes. I am strongly the opinion that this replacement has both merit and demerit influences for the following the reasons.

On the one hand, I advocate the view that studying in internet-based courses enabled to eradicate the geographic obstacles and far more easy to approach. Firstly, students will have the most opportunity to engage in state-of-the-art class and even as many as famous lecturer in the prestigious tertiary education schools from over the world. For instances, learners are able to study at Oxford University that one of the most reputable of school to broaden their horizon and enhance their skills. Secondly, students can save a large amount of the cost such as moving and saving time to enter the traditional schools. Furthermore, classes on the cyber space are more vivid than physical ones for video, images or audio teaching facilities.

On the other hand, this substitution also entails several repercussions. Initially, enrolling in e-classes may encounter many distractions such as movies, games or surfing the internet while they studied at home. As the result, instead of focusing study, online learners can have proclivity for ignore their lessons. In addition, joining virtual classes can eliminate social skills. The replacement of studying where people can interact with teachers or peers that was erased by their glued eyes on computer in most of their time lead to be isolated.

In conclusion, I strongly of the belief that physical class make way for e-class that had some advantages; however ones is also detrimental to student’ concentration and interaction.