Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus Do you think this is a positive or negative development

It is widely argued that giving online lectures is hugely adopted by many universities compared to traditional teaching methods. I personally believe that this alternative has some pros and cons, and the choice of which depends on individuals. This is will first demonstrate some beneficial impacts on the human learning process and make an analysis of how its downsides can affect learners.

On the one hand, some universities show a strong tendency to offer students a wide range of online lectures, and therefore, it gives students a convenient and flexible availability of learning. Due to the enhancement of technologies such as smartphones, or laptops as well as the rapid development of social media like Facebook, Instagram, or Tweeter, studying online is extremely easier compared to the past, regardless of distances. More specifically, learning through the Internet offers learners a great opportunity to explore a huge amount of in-depth knowledge and information by a click of a mouse. For example, in virtue of sudden COVID-19 outbreak, the traditional learning method is replaced by online lecturing which is commonly favored among many students and universities.

On the other hand, this novel way of education seems to experience several difficulties in many aspects. First of all, in terms of facilities, it is reasonably understandable that the lack of cutting-edge technological devices in some remote areas poses a serious threat to the learning process of a student. For instance, the online teaching method is totally out of the question in universities from many developing countries, because of a shortage of budget to purchase or install the necessary equipment. Additionally, cybercrime also a challenging obstacle that all universities have to carefully consider to ensure the quality of an online lecture. Taking Zoom as a prime example, which is one of the world-famous applications for meeting and studying on the Internet is not reliable due to its vulnerable security, and thus, is easily attacked by hackers along with indecent and distorted information.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that the development of technologies greatly promotes one’s education. Having said that, there are still some drawbacks that needed to be taken into consideration in order to create a proper learning environment.