Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the breakthroughs of technological advances, online learning has been becoming increasingly prevalent in several universities, gradually replacing the existence of on-campus classes. From my perspective, although this transformation might trigger some plausible downsides, I believe that online university courses are a positive modification.

There are several drawbacks concerned with online university courses that cannot be overlooked. One of the most irrefutable disadvantages is less direct interaction among students. This is because undergraduates might lack group works, which, in turn, leads to a deterioration in interpersonal skills of students who rely on internet-based classes. Another unanticipated problem of learning through online platforms is to distract students’ attention. To be more specific, online platforms tend to contain an array of commercial advertisements that catch people’s attention. As a result, those eye-catching pop-ups might lose learners’ attention easily, which might exacerbate learners’ academic performance.

Despite the downsides described above, it is my firm conviction that offering online courses is beneficial to students. First and foremost, students might take advantage of lower tuition fees that stem from online classes. While face-to-face classes require tertiary students to pay for electricity and annual maintenance fees that accelerate tuition fees, online university courses might ask students to clear course registration and internet fares solely. Consequently, online courses will facilitate students to steer clear of squandering money for their academic purposes. In tandem with this, what online university courses might completely benefit students is to aid them to stay away from potential infection. COVID-19, for instance, has forced millions of undergraduates to attend online classes, which, in turn, contributed to curbing the spread of this virus and protecting student’s life.

In conclusion, although the gradual shift from traditional classes to online university courses might trigger some hurdles for students, I assume that this is a positive trend towards future learning.