Some people think that the main benefit of international cooperation is in the protection of the environment, while others believe that the main interest is in the world of business. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some individuals contend that the chief benefit of international cooperation is environmental protection, others argue that its main advantage is to boost the global economy. Although both viewpoints have significant merits, I believe environmental protection and trade values are equally important in determining the fundamental roles of such cooperation.

On the one hand, there are compelling reasons for the former perspective that cooperation among nations can be advantageous in addressing environmental issues. Due to rapid industrialisation, pollutants emitted by agricultural and industrial activities have induced various thorny issues, such as global warming and pollution-related problems, posing a fatal threat to human health. The necessity of collaboration, as a result, can emerge as a plausible solution to prevent the environment from being severely damaged. Another issue demanding global action is rising sea levels. As sea levels rise, numerous coastal cities can be submerged, leading to the loss of cultural and architectural heritages of many countries. Therefore, only by cooperation can these environmental issues be addressed, safeguarding human health.

On the other hand, others claim that fostering a sustainable economy is the fundamental focus of international cooperation. The legacy of prolonged wars has required various nations, which experienced devastating destructions, to stay connected with others to strengthen their economies. For instance, having encountered severe damage from the American war, the Vietnamese government decided to reform the nation by gradually establishing strategic partnerships with powerful nations across the globe to facilitate bilateral trade activities. These commercial activities have allowed state and private enterprises to grow and extend their business activities during the last three decades. As a result, Vietnam has become more economically sustainable due to its collaboration with other nations.

In conclusion, despite the arguments over the chief purpose of international cooperation, I contend that nations establishing partnerships can achieve financial gain and mitigate environmental issues. Admittedly, reducing the detrimental impacts of environmental catastrophes can contribute to a more sustainable global economy.