Some university now offer their courses on Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that in recent years, online courses are gradually replacing face-to-face classes because of its various benefits in university educaion. Although there are some drawbacks of these courses, in my opinion, I believe that there are far more advantages created in study by courses on Internet.

On the one hand, the main disadvantages of the trend towards online university courses is less interaction between teachers and students. For example, students attend traditional classes, giving rise to various opportunities to engage face-to-face with their professors. This would lead them to assimulate knowledge more effectively and easily improve their level of acadamic performance. Besides that, another disadvantages of teaching through Internet is that people might not be given direct feedbacks throughout study process. For instance, instead of continuous assessments, students learning on the Internet only receive tranmission of knowledge wthout any criticism with the aim of improving their weaknesses. Consequently, these students might ignore improvement and reduce their progress in their studies.

On the other hand, despite of the above arguments I argue that online courses will bring about much more benefits for students rather than traditional ones. Firstly, online courses will enable people to develop their independent study habit, giving rise to autonomous ability of learning. In addition, not only do online university courses create a flexibility of study timetable but they also allow students select compatible lectures with their level. Furthermore, whereas teachers have to manage to tailor teaching strategies in classes of students with different abilities, online courses help them deliver lectures naturally. Additonally, provision of courses on Internet would also enhance opportunities for people living in distance areas to pursue higher education at their hometown.

In conclusion, in spite of several disadvantages in online education, it seems to me that benefits of online university courses outweigh them in education.