Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Why do you think this is? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many developing countries around the world have been encountering a knotty problem of more and more migration of the youth from rural to urban areas to find better paradises for work and life. In addition, by virtue of this fact, the countryside is in shortage of the young but abundance of the old. This essay is first aimed at pointing some reasons why this matter exists and then will be examining whether it is a favourable social change or a converse one.

To begin with, there are a number of different explanations to be taken into account as to why this matter draws many attention from the mass media and governments. For one thing, this fact might result in the rapid rises in the urbanization rates recently causing alarming imbalances of well-equipped facilities as well as the general development among urban and rural areas in countries. By and large, the young employment-to-be could take diversified career opportunities in metropolitan areas on the ground that there are not only a variety of universities and vocational colleges but also manufacturers, industrial parks for them to facilitate and foster the growth of their learning and working path there better than in their indigent hometowns. For another, the fact that youngsters would like to assert themselve and escape from their past poverty by means of dynamic environment and higher people’s intellect standard in metropolises deserves consideration. They could take full advantage of these conditions to acquire well-education and valuable chances to enhance their attitude and skills in a competitive labor force, with the result that they are capable of earning their livelihoods on their own account and partially providing financial support to their family in their hometown.

It is likewise worth mentioning several drawbacks of this issue. Granted that most young people tend to flood into big cities to study and look for jobs, this leads to a wasteful abundance in the workforce and unemployment increases, meanwhile, the agricultural lands in countrysides are no longer cultivated due to scarcity of heirs having a passionate interest in farming. Another major drawback is negative effects on infrastructure, environment and the social security system in these cities. Given the fact that current systems and public facilities, namely roads, social housing, schools and hospitals, could not go on tolerating too many immigrants from other regions, they would probably become vulnerable victims of uncontrolled urbanization in forthcoming years.

In conclusion, the urbanization acceleration in many countries along with desperate desire for a good quality of life is among some possible rationales behind this social trend. As a result based on the aforementioned discussion, the impact of the flow of young people to urban areas can be a mixed blessing.