Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns leaving only old people in the countryside Why do you think this is Do you think this is a positive or negative development

As many metropolitan areas are emerging in the modern era, people have a tendency to relocate from rural areas to urban ones. This has sparked a debate about the declining number of countryside residents. In my view, this trend shows both negative and positive developments for several reasons.

On the one hand, in terms of the positive effects of rural residents migrating to urban areas, individuals will have more opportunities to join the labor workforce, which is a scarce resource in cities. Particularly, since many skyscrapers are being constructed, there is a significant demand for heavy labor, which is in excess in the countryside. Moreover, the younger generation is nourishing their dreams, which can only occur and thrive in metropolitan conditions. For instance, since there is a huge demand for heavy-duty workers such as builders, the unemployed are provided with opportunities to earn a living, while young residents are able to pursue their ambitions in well-known enterprises or organizations.

On the other hand, due to the waves of immigration that have occurred over many decades, the reality of overpopulation is inevitable. Additionally, since a significant number of people are relocating to cities looking for better employment possibilities, vacancies for accommodations are now unavailable. Furthermore, traffic jams have always been an issue for city planners, so when more people are commuting, the situation will become more exacerbated. For example, workers who cannot afford rental flats due to the rising demand for accommodations may become homeless, which means they will have to stay under bridges, making urban aesthetics look dreadful in the eyes of tourists. Nevertheless, more people commuting leads to more carbon dioxide emissions. As a result, global warming will worsen.

In conclusion, I admit that city life offers more chances for employment and helps nourish the dreams of young people; however, the drawbacks are unsolvable issues that will persist for years, if not decades. Hence, it is crucial to maintain the population ratio between rural and urban areas appropriately.