There has been a significant rise in the movement of young people to cities from their rural areas in
recent decades leaving their grandparents and other elderly live alone. As a result, it has certain
ramifications to the society and country which will be discussed in this essay with some viable solutions
to it.
Fundamentally, there are some predominant factors which have triggered the issue, particularly, search
for jobs and higher studies due to lack of job opportunities and good educational institutions in
countryside because of which population growth in cities rise exponentially. This hits the infrastructure
of that particular city adversely and lowers the overall development of it widening the gap between rich
and poor. Another point to consider is, this trend widens the communication gap between the elder
people and the young people making the latter disconnected to the roots of their culture and traditions
as they gradually make distance with their relatives living in the countryside because of numerous
personal reasons. For instance, shocking facts were revealed in a recent survey conducted in India
where 40% more people were admitted to old age homes as compared to the data received one year
back which was majorly due to migration of their children to nearby cities.
Nevertheless, there are potential ways to improve the scenario. Chiefly, rural areas should be given
emphasis on the economic front by the countries which includes necessary facilities to be set up such as
hospitals, schools and colleges and infrastructure which in turn shall devoid any person moving to
another city or town and increasing the employment opportunities for the rural people. Entering into
memorandum and contracts with big business houses to increase their investment options to
countryside can solve the problem to a great extent. To illustrate, a recent contract has been signed by
the Indian government with Reliance Industries to set up their lucrative project of textile in a small
village of Rajasthan which will generate impressive employment opportunities to the native people.
In conclusion, old people are the ones whose experience can certainly help a country flourish and
develop. Therefore, leaving them could have consequences for the development of a nation. Thus, there
becomes an urgent need to implement some effective measures to cease this trend so that country can
prosper with balanced regional growth.