Someone once said that children are the future, these children are the ones who will grow up to be the leaders of tomorrow. However, having more than one child could be less enjoyable for some parents.

Discuss what are advantages OR disadvantages of having more than one child in a family

In contemporary society, families with more than one child have drawn public attention in many parts of the world. Although there are certain advantages , I would argue that they are outweighed by the drawbacks.

The first advantage of having a lot of children in the family is that they will learn to share and support one another. When a child has siblings , it is necessary for them to share some of their belongings, such as toys or clothes as this gesture can be considered to be an act of expressing their love. Moreover, this trend also helps reduce pressure for parents, especially those having hectic schedules. Since parents are busy with work, children can be friends to each other and the elders can help out with the little one. As a result, these children might become more independent and responsible when they reach adulthood.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, there are still some note-worthy downsides of crowded families. Apparently, having more children has detrimental impacts on the cost of living as this trend might create financial burdens for parents with medium or low incomes. First, parents have to afford numerous types of expenses such as keeping their children fed and watered. As a result, this will put some parents under pressure, which might result in health-related problems, such as anxiety. In addition, having more children poses huge threats on the child’s development. This is mainly because parents will be unable to spend their leisure time for each individual in the family. Therefore, the children will lack caring and parental guidance, which play an essential role in forming their personalities in the early age.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that families with many children have more beneficial influences although it also brings some disadvantages.