In this day and age, an increasing number of contemporaries are paying attention to kinds of communication. Some people assert that written communication is not as effective as oral ones. Personally, I believe that both types of communication could provide people a range of benefits, it depends on what circumstances each individual face and which ones they prefer.

When it comes to situations that require body language and facial expressions, spoken language is better than written ones. Take dating as an excellent example. It is more important to set up a face to face conservation with sweetheart than to sit at home and send messages. Emotion icons, photos, video calls could never take prevalence over a real smile, open-armed acts and the expression of feelings during a dinner date. Another thing is that by meeting and talking directly, people could know whether the other have the feelings for them through facial expressions and gestures, which they could not do just by reading some text messages.

However, in terms of law and business, written communication is considered to be more important than spoken words. In court, for example, words might count for nothing if people do not have valid evidence, such as written documents, to support their arguments. Speaking of business, it would be quicker, more convenient and more time-saving for a company or enterprise to send emails regarding promotions and sales and to keep in touch with a group of targeted costumers than to meet and talk with every one of whom.

From these mentioned above reasons, the conclusion can be drawn that each type of communication has its own perks. Oral communication seems to be more effective in situations when people need to use gestures and show emotions, while written communication is preferable for business and law.