In this day and age, an increasing number of contemporaries are shopping excessively on online websites. As a result, online shopping has become more popular than ever before. This trend might pose positive impacts on the environment and employment patterns in the short run, but it may do more harm than good in the long run.

In terms of the environment, the popularity of online shopping could help reduce the number of car journeys to physical stores and the amount of associated greenhouse emissions. A delivery truck, for example, is able to carry large amounts of goods, which, if carried by a private car, would require hundreds of trips, emitting a huge amounts of carbon emissions into the atmosphere. In the long run, however, the convenience of shopping on Internet might encourage people to buy more, and this would increase the number of delivery vehicles, releasing amount of colossal exhaust which in turn results in acid rain, global warming and affects the overall well-being of people negatively.

Regarding the effects on the types of jobs in labour market, the growing popularity of online shopping has created various employment opportunities. A college student lacking money to cover tuition, for example, thanks to online shopping, he would have a golden opportunity to find edible jobs such as web designer or delivery driver in order to enhance his lifestyle and living standard without affecting his academic training. However, this kind of shopping might lead to the bankruptcy of traditional retailers, putting many people at the risk of unemployment. As a result, the number of jobless people would outnumber the number of job openings created by the rapid development of online shopping.

From these above mentioned reasons, the conclusion can be drawn that online shopping has double-edge impacts on the environment and employment. Despite the benefits, it is outweighed by the drawbacks ranging from environmental issue like air pollution to a huge number of the unemployed.