Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that verbal communication is significantly effective than the written one. I partially agree with this viewpoint as communicating though the writing could be more suitable to some degree.

On the one hand, spoken communication would be better in some situations which require facial expressions and body language. When dating, for instance, people must express their feelings to attract others. Face-to-face contact would be more emotional and interesting, compared to sending messages to each other, which is much more boring since all they could see is just the phone screens. Besides, expressing the feelings by face is much better than emotion icons on the smartphone. Furthermore, seeing people’s expressions could help to guess the true feelings of others through smiling, crying or even doing nothing. Because there is little likelihood that people could lie through their eyes. With written communication, people could hardly know whether others tell the truths or not.

On the other hand, in some circumstances, written words could be more effective. In business, written documents such as contracts or commitments would ensure that people have to do exactly as they compromised in those papers. For example, in a contract, employers say that the employees’ salaries can rise by 3.5% in a year, and if they break the contract, workers would have the rights to sue the companies. Additionally, when contacting the clients, people could send emails to them instead of talking to each individual, making it more productive and less time-consuming.

In conclusion, some people would prefer face-to-face conversations with written communication. I believe that whether to choose spoken words or written ones would depend on certain situations.