Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught.

To what extent do you agree/disagree?

In these days, beside teaching students theoretical knowledge, whether they should be provided with some soft skills has aroused people's discussion. I contend that these young generations should be improved in both academic and practical knowledge.

There are some reasons why people support for opinion of only teaching student academic subjects. Firstly, since they access to any compulsory subjects at schools or universities, they can gain their deeper insight into every area of specialisation. In fact, learners have opportunity to explore new phenomenon and hidden messages around them, which they are likely to broaden their horizons in many fields of study. Second, by examination results, they are supposed to be eligible for which academic levels they stand. This means that without a deep understanding, students may fail their exams, have to study these subjects again, which they are not able to have better academic performances.

However, i am in favor the idea that practical skills are of great benefit for students to learn. First of all, some practical ones such as cooking , sewing or other skills provide learners fundamental skills, help them to realize their potential and strengths. As a result, they find it so effective and amusing after many hours of studying academic lessons. Moreover, with a few extracurricular activities held by schools, students may have great experiences, apply some theories that they have been equipped to the real life. For instance, college students live far from family, life skills such as cooking and self-confidence will be helpful since students will be able to prepare healthy meals and cope with difficulties.

In conclusion, notwithstanding all the merits of only teaching students academic knowledge offer, I believe both theoretical and practical one should be equally important and be taught at school.