Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught.

The topic of what to teach school-goers has raised interesting viewpoints. One of which suggests that the emphasis should be on academic training for students to succeed in exams and that skills such as cooking and dressing are not necessary. While acknowledging the importance of exam-oriented education, I disagree with the neglect of practical skills as they bring various benefits.

Focusing on academic knowledge is of value for several reasons. Forefront among these is that students get better preparation for demanding university entrance exams. For instance, candidates for medical schools often strive to achieve combined marks of at least 25 out 30 for their qualifying tests, which is difficult to achieve without intensive training. Efforts to pass exams are also justified by the prospect of future career opportunities. It has been shown that graduates of top-ranking colleges tend to have higher success quotients applying for high-paid positions.

However, there are compelling arguments in support of teaching practical skills. For young students, learning these skills not only fosters a sense of independence and responsibility but also forms a healthy lifestyle. As an example, students can actively prepare nutritious meals instead of relying on unhealthy meals of instant noodles and processed foods to get by. Also, the psychological benefits of joining classes that are not academically intensive have often gone unnoticed. To illustrate this, learning how to dress properly or handle food ingredients could allow students to release stress, which could elevate their academic performance later on.

In conclusion, taking both sets of arguments into consideration, I believe that even though exam-focused lesson are crucial, teaching students culinary or dressing skills is beneficial and thus, should not be overlooked.