Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that students who get a tertiary education have to pay off the whole tuition fee because they will gain many advantages themselves rather than society. While it is clear that people who get a higher education may have many personal benefits, I believe that their knowledge also significantly contributes to the improvement of the community.

On the one hand, people who continue to study at university can move up the career ladder easier than those who do not. Firstly, there are vocations which acquire sophisticated academic knowledge to compete with, such as surgeons or lawyers. For example, in some nations, if I want to work as a lawyer, it is a priority that I have to graduate from a related university. Secondly, university degree will qualify students for higher living conditions. Headhunting corporations always offer a competitive salary to attract graduates, and therefore, graduates have the right to require better promotion opportunities such as high salaries and an ideal working environment.

On the other hand, there are two primary reasons why governments should not let students pay their full studying fee. One reason is that investments in education should be a government priority to create a prosperous society. For example, legislative branches always demand personnel who have high and excellent knowledge base to put their knowledge gained into practice, which forms a better community. Furthermore, if students have to shoulder the full educational cost, they possibly are obligated to work their way through university to pay off a huge student loan. Consequently, some of them might fall behind with their studies and even drop out of their college.

In conclusion, although many people think that paying full cost of study is a students’ responsibility because this actually brings only personal benefits, I believe that governments should provide public subsidies for higher education to reach a better society based on high intellectual standard and help students to have the best educational conditions.