Government should invest in teaching science subjects rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some opinions assume that it is better if governments allocate more resources on teaching science subjects rather than other ones so as to develop countries. Although I partly agree that science courses are instrumental in developing and progressing countries, I believe that we should not ignore the significance of the remaining ones.

On the one hand, it is undoubted that science subjects are necessary for many reasons. In terms of social aspects, governments should invest in improving the staff of scientists who lead to solve urgent problems in society. For example, every nation today has to take the fight against global warming and climate change into consideration, and therefore, they need more and more scientists to research effective and efficient interventions to mitigate these issues. From a medical perspective, following the strong emergence of both physical and mental problems due to a fast-paced lifestyle today, doctors and scientists play an integral part in searching for a cure. Many people who are prone to brain disruptions caused by a heavy workload need support from doctors who are equipped with science and medical knowledge.

On the other hand, albeit the dispensible role of science subjects, we should not underestimate other subjects. Firstly, contemporary generations have compulsory obligations to preserve artistic and literary heritages of their ancestors so that teachers can deliver vivid lectures to youngsters. And therefore, non-science courses such as history, art, politics remain important to students. Secondly, countries cannot develop if they have a lack of people who have a good understanding of business and managing capacity. Many corporations need students who have a good grasp of business-related subjects such as human resources management or financial management in order to enhance companies’ public images and grow their businesses as well.

To sum up, while science subjects obviously should be invested more to ensure living standards, I believe that governments should raise public’s attention about the importance of other subjects to gain sustainable developments.