Students should pay the full cost of their own university studies, rather than have free higher education provided by the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, the dispute over whether students should pay the full cost of their own tertiary education fee or that tuition fee should be subsidized by the authority has aroused people’s discussion. This is a sophisticated issue and my belief is that post-secondary students should contrive to pay their fee.

It is understandable why some people believe that post-secondary fees should be paid by the government. Academy fundamental’s purposes are to create a new source of employment which will bring prosperity for the country so students should be encouraged to pursue tertiary education by free tuition fees. If there were skyrocketing tuition fees, only affluent members of society could afford to engage in higher education. The implication for this is that the less privileged would be stripped of the opportunity to learn and broaden their horizon in their occupational sectors. Having said that, this argument is flawed, as admission to a prestigious university often contains scholarships for poverty but dedicated students. One case at this point is the University of Pedagogy in Vietnam where students who major in teaching are given a grant that provides them with a free tuition fee.

On the other hand, I believe that students should pay the full cost of their own tertiary education. This can be attributed to the fact that the government does not have sufficient funds to subsidize all students and there are other priorities for taxpayer’s money. The key argument in support of this view is that there are a variety of training curricula that require top-notch and prohibitively costly facilities such as the medical industry and engineering, which correspondingly increase the burden for the country especially developing one. Furthermore, were students to require to pay their own fees, they would value their own budget and, therefore, try their best to ace the test with flying colors.

To recapitulate, while there are reasons to support giving the students free admission to higher education, I would opine the view that it would be better to require a tuition fee from students.