Students should pay their full university fees themselves as they benefit from having university studies and not the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

University education is necessary to get a good job or to do business. It is often argued that who should pay university fees whether it should be a student of society. I disagree with the notion and I have a belief that students and society both have plus points of university education. This essay will further discuss the benefits for individuals and the community, by getting an education.

Firstly let's consider the social effect of higher education. Educated society can take their country towards the development. Take the example of UNITED STATS OF AMERICA, there is nearly 99% of people are well-educated. Because of that, they can do business and also can get a very good job, and when they start business overall, their society or country has a very good amount of products to export to other countries and this trend take their country towards the growth. Another big effect on other people is that they can get good facilities in different fields. The more people study, the more we get professionals (doctors, engineers, accountants, and so on). They can get very good medical facilities.

On the other side, people generally think that after tertiary education students will get high salaries (Doctors, accountants, lawyers, and engineers). The reason for this thinking is if students get a high salary by this study so why should government or other taxpayers pay fees for that students. So this is the first positive effect on individuals that get high wages after getting a degree. This system ( society should pay fees for students) is usable for a minority of students who cannot afford university fees. For instance, in Australia government give facility of loan for students to pay fees, and later, when they get a job and earn a good salary, they repay this loan.

In summary, the modern world is becoming more complex and knowledge is becoming more and more specialized, undoubtedly, education is necessary for both society as well as students but it is impossible to decide whether the society benefits more or individual. So education is beneficial for both so costs should be paid by both of them.