Students today can easily access information online so libraries are no longer necessary Do you agree or disagree

These days, with the mass amount of data available on the internet, some people argue the necessity of libraries. It is true that the roles of libraries have diminished in the academic field of students, but this does not eliminate the students' requirements for libraries.

I agree that nowadays students mostly browse in the internet for their school projects and less refer to libraries. This is because they can gain a large quantity of information in every subject much easier and faster. Also they can organize and collate this acquired data more conveniently in comparison with reading several books and taking notes. Therefore students are more dependent on online resources and computers than libraries and books.

However, it can not detract from value of libraries due to various reasons. Firstly, students might be interested in some fields other than their academic subjects, such as story books, poetry and so on. It will be hard for them to read such stuffs on the internet. In fact gazing for a long period of time at the screens of mobiles or tablets can be really annoying and may result in making them have poor eyesight. Secondly, there are some special materials for example reference books or some old but valuable resources which cannot be found on the internet. Finally, the favorable ambience of libraries and watching other students while they are reading, encourages students to read more. Thus, libraries still have many functions.

In conclusion, although the function of libraries are affected with easy access to online resources of information, I would argue that they are still essential for students, for instance for extra reading beyond school lessons, some rare and valuable resources and using the library space for reading besides other classmates.