Studies have shown that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so that they can get a job when they leave. Do you agree or disagree?

Some journals have revealed that poor education causes problems related to education. Many people believe that to improve the better living of offenders, educational experience has to be provided during the imprisonment period. I am partially in accord with the statement under some circumstances which will be the topic of discussion.

The first primary opinion, providing the criminals with the education seems unacceptable on account of the superfluous state budget which can be allocated to the urgent matters, building more prison rooms. The limited rooms of prisons resulting in overcrowded surroundings prompt the low rate of cleanliness. The lack of environmental hygiene causes numerous infectious diseases, such as Tuberculosis. Furthermore, in view of applying for jobs, a criminal record becomes a great issue for ex-perpetrators to meet the qualifications of companies’ recruitment. It is evidence that those in the United States who experienced incarceration receive less than $10.000 per year income jobs which might not fulfil their daily needs exacerbating severe violations to survive.

In contrast with the aforementioned point, providing further education, counseling programs, such as what University of Southern Queensland establishes in terms of helping women prisoners to pursue their careers (being entrepreneurs of continuing studies). If the programs worked well, it would change the prejudice from the society towards them. To state further, the more diverse the training programs are conducted by the government, the more skilled the convicted persons will be. Following this, Australia’s government provides the offenders with training programs aiming to ease job search including a baker and barber.

In conclusion, it is clear to me that education is beneficial for convicted persons, delivering certain advantages, including to support them to have further careers and to enhance specific skills. This is as long as the government keeps developing its main prison facilities.